Free UK delivery/Business quotes and proforma invoices/12-month warranty/30-day returns

On the floor or on site, technicians use the mobile apps (Octave Attune EAM Digital Work, and the Attune EAM Mobile family of Offline, Connected and Disconnected apps) to pick up assigned work orders, inspect equipment, pull up an asset by scanning a barcode, QR code or NFC tag, and record parts and readings. The vendor's product sheet describes Attune EAM Mobile operating offline for crews in tunnels and underground environments, and the brochure says it is licensed by device to support shared devices within a facility or crew. A consumer tablet that is passed between shifts, carried around a depot, plant or substation, and used in rain, dust and cold tends not to last.

This page lists the device requirements Octave publishes for the Android and Windows apps, shows which Tuga device meets each one, and is honest about what the vendor does not document. We found no list of recommended or tested devices from Octave, so everything here is a comparison of published requirements against Tuga specifications.

Requirements

What HxGN EAM, now Octave Attune EAM (formerly Infor EAM) needs from a device

Each item below comes from Octave (Octave Intelligence plc)'s own listing or documentation, with the source linked.

  • Android 10 to 16 for the Android apps

    The Octave Attune EAM Product Family Software Requirements for 12.3.1 list Android 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 and 16 as the supported client operating systems on three separate pages: Android Digital Work; Android Tablet Connected, Android Tablet Disconnected, Phone, Rapid Request and Asset Move; and Android Mobile Offline. The Google Play listings do not show a 'Requires Android' value in the page text we retrieved, so the vendor document is the source used here. Source: docs.hexagonali.com

  • Windows 10 or 11 with a 1024 x 768 screen for the Windows tablet apps

    The 12.3.1 requirements document lists Windows Tablet Connected and Windows Tablet Disconnected as Operating System Windows 10, Windows 11, Screen 1024 x 768 minimum. The Microsoft Store listings for Octave Attune EAM Mobile Connected and Mobile Disconnected (published by Intergraph Corporation) show 'Windows 8.1 or higher' and x86, x64 and ARM architectures. The requirements document lists Digital Work under iOS and Android only, and there is no Microsoft Store listing for it. Source: docs.hexagonali.com

  • Desktop web client: 4 GB RAM, 1600 x 900 screen, Edge or Chrome

    The full Attune EAM web client (the back-office interface rather than the technician apps) requires RAM 4 GB, Screen 1600 x 900 minimum, and Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome or Internet Explorer 11 on Windows. No Tuga device meets the 1600 x 900 minimum, so this page does not position any of them for the web client. Source: docs.hexagonali.com

  • Offline work through the Attune EAM Mobile apps, not Digital Work

    The Google Play listing for Octave Attune EAM Offline says the app, after an initial sync, can operate in a disconnected mode so users continue to create and modify data without a data connection, and that another sync is required once the device reconnects. The Disconnected tablet apps on Android and Windows are described as working without a network connection available, with a connection still needed to sync. The Digital Work listing says the app works in a connected manner and that a network connection is required. Source: play.google.com

  • Barcode and QR scanning: camera in Digital Work, wedge scanner for the Mobile apps

    The Digital Work documentation says the barcode icon is used to scan a QR code or barcode with the device's camera. The mobile application requirements page of the 12.3.1 requirements document states that barcode functionality of Octave Attune EAM Mobile is available via wedge scanner software only, that is, a scanner that feeds keyboard input rather than the camera. The vendor has not stated compatibility with any specific scanner. Source: docs.hexagonali.com

  • NFC tag scanning in Mobile Offline and Digital Work needs a device with NFC; RFID is not documented

    The Attune EAM Mobile Apps Release Notes for 12.3.1 list 'Added support for NFC tags' under Mobile Offline updates: NFC tag scanning has been added on supported devices as an option anywhere barcode scanning is supported, only STRING-type NFC tags are supported, and the option is only available on devices that support NFC tag scanning. Digital Work has DWNFCKEY and DWNFCTYP install parameters for NFC scans. We found no vendor statement about NFC in the Windows Connected or Disconnected apps, and no vendor statement about RFID (including UHF RFID) in the EAM mobile apps. Source: docs.hexagonali.com

  • A matching Attune EAM server version and administrator involvement

    Every Google Play listing, and the Microsoft Store listings for Mobile Connected and Mobile Disconnected, state that a particular Attune EAM version is required (the Digital Work listing says version 11.6 or higher), and most add that a database script may be needed. The requirements document says: 'To ensure software compatibility for mobile devices, we strongly urge you to contact our Support organization prior to upgrading versions.' The Attune EAM help describes setting up device records with a Type of Android, Android Phone, Android Tablet, Handheld, iOS, iPad, iPhone or PC/Laptop. Source: play.google.com

Devices

Which Tuga device fits HxGN EAM, now Octave Attune EAM (formerly Infor EAM)

Picked on the published requirements above and nothing else.

Our pick

Tuga A10 £449

Octave Attune EAM runs on both Android and Windows, but the current connected app with camera scanning and NFC (Digital Work) is listed for Android and iOS only, and the Offline, Connected and Disconnected apps are all on Google Play. That makes an Android tablet the natural fit for most technician work, and the Tuga A10 is our primary pick. It runs Android 14, which sits inside the vendor's published Android 10 to 16 range, has NFC for the tag scanning Octave documents in Mobile Offline (12.3.1) and Digital Work, and has a 13MP rear camera for Digital Work's camera-based barcode and QR scanning. Its 10.1 inch 1920 x 1200 screen gives room for work order detail and inspection checklists, and the IP68 and MIL-STD-810H ratings suit a shared device passed between crews. It costs £449 with no VAT to add.

  • Android 10 to 16 supported for Digital Work, Mobile Offline and the Tablet Connected and Disconnected apps: the A10 runs Android 14.
  • NFC tag scanning in Mobile Offline (12.3.1 onwards) and Digital Work is only available on devices that support NFC: the A10 has NFC.
  • Digital Work scans barcodes and QR codes with the device camera: the A10 has a 13MP rear camera with flash (scanning through the camera is app-dependent, and there is no dedicated scan engine).
  • Offline work needs an initial sync and a resync when back in coverage: the A10 has 128GB storage, 8GB RAM, 4G dual SIM and dual-band Wi-Fi 5.
  • The vendor licenses Attune EAM Mobile by device for shared use within a facility or crew: the A10 is IP68 and MIL-STD-810H rated, has an 8000mAh battery, and operates from -20 to 60C.
Alternative

Tuga W10 £649

Choose the Tuga W10 if your team uses the Windows versions of the Attune EAM Mobile Connected or Disconnected tablet apps from the Microsoft Store, or if you need a device that also runs other Windows software, plugs into wired Ethernet or drives an external display over HDMI. The vendor lists Windows 10 or 11 with a 1024 x 768 minimum screen for these apps; the W10 runs Windows 11 Pro on a 1280 x 800 screen, so it meets that requirement. Three limits to be clear about: Digital Work is not listed for Windows, so the W10 only runs the Connected, Disconnected and Maintenance Kiosk family; its 1280 x 800 screen is below the 1600 x 900 minimum Octave publishes for the full desktop web client; and although the W10 has NFC, Octave documents NFC tag scanning for Mobile Offline and Digital Work only, not for the Windows apps. It is also IP65 rather than IP68, so it is protected against dust and water jets but is not rated for immersion.

  • Windows Tablet Connected and Disconnected require Windows 10 or 11 and a 1024 x 768 minimum screen: the W10 runs Windows 11 Pro with a 10.1 inch 1280 x 800 display.
  • Barcode functionality in the Attune EAM Mobile apps is via wedge scanner software only: the W10 is available with an optional 2D barcode scanner, or can pair a Bluetooth scanner that works as a keyboard wedge (the vendor has not stated compatibility with any specific scanner).
  • Depot and workshop use where the device sits on a bench or in a dock: the W10 has 100Mbps RJ45 Ethernet, HDMI, USB-A, USB-C, a pogo pin dock connector and a removable 5000mAh battery (run time depends on load).
  • Microsoft Store listings show x86, x64 and ARM support: the W10 uses an Intel N100 processor with 8GB RAM and 128GB storage.
Alternative

Tuga A6 £299

The Tuga A6 is the pick where a pocketable handheld matters more than screen size, for example for the phone-oriented Octave Attune EAM Mobile Phone and RapidRequest apps, or for Digital Work in the hands of a technician who climbs, drives or walks a large site all day. It runs Android 14, inside the published Android 10 to 16 range, has NFC, and has a 50MP main camera for Digital Work's camera scanning. The Mobile Offline documentation says the app is designed for the iPad, iPhone and Android form factors, so a handheld is a documented shape for the offline app too. The 6.78 inch screen is the trade-off: inspection forms and work order lists show less at once than on the A10.

  • Android 10 to 16 supported for the Attune EAM Android apps: the A6 runs Android 14.
  • NFC tag scanning in Mobile Offline (12.3.1 onwards) and Digital Work is only available on devices with NFC: the A6 has NFC.
  • Digital Work scans barcodes and QR codes with the device camera: the A6 has a 50MP main camera and a 64MP night-vision camera (camera scanning is app-dependent; there is no dedicated scan engine).
  • Offline apps need a sync when back in coverage, and the Play listings warn that continued background GPS use can drain the battery: the A6 has 5G, Wi-Fi 5, a 10600mAh battery with 33W fast charge, and 256GB storage.
  • Handheld use outdoors and in wet or dirty conditions: the A6 is IP68 and IP69K rated, MIL-STD-810H, has Gorilla Glass 5, glove mode and a 560 nit display, and weighs 441g.
Setting up

Getting HxGN EAM, now Octave Attune EAM (formerly Infor EAM) running

  1. Confirm with your Attune EAM administrator which apps your organisation uses (Digital Work, Offline, Connected or Disconnected), that your server version meets the version stated in the app's store listing, and that any required database script has been applied. The vendor urges contacting its Support organisation before upgrading mobile versions.
  2. Have the administrator create a device record in Attune EAM (the help describes this under Setting up mobile devices) with the matching Type, for example Android Tablet for the A10, Android Phone for the A6 or PC/Laptop for the W10.
  3. On a Tuga A10 or A6, install the app from Google Play (publisher: Intergraph Corporation, an Octave Company). On a Tuga W10, install Octave Attune EAM Mobile Connected or Mobile Disconnected from the Microsoft Store.
  4. Sign in with the Attune EAM user account and connection details your administrator provides. Attune EAM Mobile is licensed by device, so one tablet can be shared by several technicians.
  5. If you use the Offline or Disconnected app, run the initial sync on Wi-Fi before the device leaves the depot or plant, and sync again when it returns to coverage. The Mobile Offline documentation describes Full Sync and Upload Only options and an auto-sync interval of no less than 300 seconds.
  6. If your team uses the Attune EAM Mobile apps and needs barcodes, set up the W10's optional 2D scanner or pair a Bluetooth wedge scanner, then fit the charging dock or vehicle mounting dock where the device will live between shifts.
Accessories

Worth adding

  • Charging dock, £49.99 (A10, W10): a fixed point in the workshop or depot where a shared device goes back between shifts.
  • Vehicle mounting dock, £109: for fleet and transit maintenance teams who work from vans or service vehicles.
  • Hand strap, £24: for one-handed use while scanning tags on equipment (the A10 ships with one in the box; order extra for replacements).
  • Tempered glass screen protector 2-pack, £14: for devices handled with dirty gloves or kept on a bench with tools.

All accessories

Questions

HxGN EAM, now Octave Attune EAM (formerly Infor EAM) on a Tuga device

Octave's software requirements for 12.3.1 list Android 10 to 16 as the supported client operating systems for Digital Work, Mobile Offline and the Tablet Connected and Disconnected apps. The Tuga A10 runs Android 14, so it meets that published requirement, and it has the NFC that Octave says is needed for tag scanning in Mobile Offline (12.3.1 onwards) and Digital Work. We found no list of recommended or tested devices from Octave, so we cannot say the A10 has been tested or approved by Octave, and your EAM administrator needs to confirm your server version supports the app you plan to install.

Yes, through the Attune EAM Mobile app family. The Google Play listing for Octave Attune EAM Offline says that after an initial sync the app can operate in a disconnected mode, and that another sync is needed when the device reconnects. The Disconnected tablet apps on Android and Windows are described as working without a network connection available. Digital Work is the exception: its listing says a network connection is required. The A10 has 4G dual SIM and the A6 has 5G, so they can resync without returning to Wi-Fi.

Yes to both. A single trial unit before a fleet order is welcome, with 30-day returns and a 12-month warranty. Business buyers can request a quote and pay by bank transfer on a proforma invoice. Tuga Hardware (Destello Tech Ltd) is not VAT registered, so the prices shown have no VAT to add. Multi-unit discounts apply automatically: 3% at 2 units, 5% at 3 to 4, 8% at 5 to 9 and 10% at 10 or more. Delivery is free within the UK and takes 7 to 10 working days; we deliver to the UK only.

The A10 (10.1 inch, 1920 x 1200, £449) is the best fit for most Android use: work order lists and inspection forms show more at once than on a handheld. The A6 (6.78 inch, £299) suits technicians who need something pocketable, 5G or a better camera, and the phone-oriented Mobile Phone and RapidRequest apps. The W10 (10.1 inch, 1280 x 800, £649) is only the right choice if you use the Windows Connected or Disconnected apps or need Ethernet, HDMI or other Windows software; Digital Work is not listed for Windows, and the W10's screen is below the 1600 x 900 minimum Octave publishes for the desktop web client.

Octave Attune EAM (formerly HxGN EAM and Infor EAM) is a product of Octave. Tuga Hardware is an independent hardware seller and is not affiliated with or endorsed by Octave.

Sources checked for this page

Trial one unit before you kit out the team.

Order a single Tuga A10 at £449, no VAT to add, with 30 days to send it back if it is not right. Business quotes and proforma invoices on request.